Memories…


It’s been almost a week since I’ve been back from Umrah, and I still don’t feel ready to move on. I keep remembering every little thing: walking down the street in Madinah to go to Masjid al-Nabawi; sitting in Masjid al-Haram with my prayer beads; meeting lovely Muslim women from all over the world as we wait for prayer to start; seeing the Kaabah every day; the call to prayer; the voices of the muezzins and imams.

I think what I miss the most is my whole day revolving around prayer, God, and Islam. It’s such a beautiful thing when that happens. I wish I could continue doing that but I feel like it’s impossible in everyday life to make prayer the centre of everything, although I have been trying. Maybe it was the atmopshere in Makkah and Madinah that makes you think of God and makes you want to be as religious as possible. I found myself constantly saying “inshallah” and “mashallah”, whereas here I don’t always remember to say/think these things.

I would love to be able to live in Madinah or Makkah, and be that close to the two most amazing mosques in Islam and the Kaabah. Imagine how wonderful it would be to live in the Prophet’s beloved city, Madinah (not a big fan of Makkah; I would definitely choose to live in Madinah if I was given the option).

I hope these feelings pass soon because it’s getting kind of depressing. Inshallah I’ll be back there soon.

Leave a Reply

