Going to a Mosque


In Cairo it is not common for women to go and pray in mosques, so I’ve never had the chance to go and pray or attend lectures or pray Taraweeh. The only time I have prayed in a mosque was during Umrah, and I fell in love with it. It’s nice to pray at home sometimes, but the experience of praying in a mosque with other Muslims is an amazing one.

I know there are a lot of mosques in The Hague, but I’m too scared to go and check them out. What do I do when I go there? Do I just go inside and pray? Or should I talk to someone there? How do I find out about events, classes, Taraweeh? I know these sound like stupid questions but I really have no idea since I’ve never been to a mosque before!

I’ve also heard about bad experiences in mosques, for example women forming cliques etc, which kind of makes me not want to go. I’m scared that everyone will be really judgmental or unfriendly, and that it’ll be a negative experience.

On the other hand, I’ve had a really lonely Ramadan so far (eating iftar alone is not fun!) so it would be really nice to meet some Muslims. I’m starting to notice a barrier between people I’ve met so far and me, in that they all love to party and drink, and I don’t. So maybe meeting other Muslims means I’ll find a social environment that suits me better, inshallah.

What was your experience of going to a mosque for the first time? Did you go alone?
Does anyone have any advice on what I should do?

Leave a Reply

