I Voted!

So yesterday there were national elections in Holland and for the first time in my life I voted! It was so much fun! In Zambia I was too young to ever vote and in Egypt there was really no point, so yesterday was my first chance.  I’m 21 now so I only missed out on voting 2 or 3 times 😀

The bad news is that Geert Wilders’ party, the PVV (Freedom Party) won 15 seats – unbelievable! The party that won the most votes, the VVD, is also a far-right party that is anti-immigration.  So yeah, who knows where Holland is heading now…it’s a sad, sad day.

10 thoughts on “I Voted!

  1. Yay for voting! No matter the outcome you were an active participant in the community. It really irks me when people don’t vote and then complain.

  2. Congratulations! Sad about that party getting in 😦 I haven’t voted here either, because of the way the system works I know that the whole of Scotland always and always will vote a certain party, and it’s counted by areas not total votes so it won’t make the slightest bit of difference. Different situation to Egypt of course.

  3. Correction, ClA: het is iets minder erg! (it’s a little bit less worse)
    Out of 9.3 million voters, 1,4 million voted PVV:
    http://www.nrc.nl/binnenland/verkiezingen2010/article2552508.ece/Uitslagen_Kamerverkiezingen_2010
    BTW: the anti-immigration stand is not the only reason why people voted PVV. It’s more leftwing than most of the other left parties (preservation of the current pensions at 65, student loans and also of the existing laws relating to dismissal.
    So it has a very populist appeal, especially on people who are not well educated. Nevertheless, I do’nt like it, as many others.

    • Wow, I didn’t know that 9.3 million people voted…thought it was less. I know in Den Haag the turnout was around 60%.

      I know that many people voted PVV for the pension, and now it’ll be interesting to see what Wilders says about that. Nevertheless I think many people did vote because of his immigration policy. It’s also dangerous to assume that Wilders’ anti-Islam message doesn’t have much appeal.

      But like you said, the PVV has a very populist feeling to it. Unfortunate 😦

  4. I think our biggest problem is that a lot of immigrants dont care for voting. I myself had a big huzzle to make people vote in my family last time, so when a party won that was hostile towards foreigners and started to crack down on socialwelfare recievers, they all started to vote the next time lol..To stop the racists/islamophobes you need to make more immigrants go and vote and show their support for more humanely parties..

    • I wonder how many immigrants/Dutch of foreign origin voted in Holland. I know all Muslims I know voted, but maybe it depends on education level etc, since most of the Muslims I know go to university.

Leave a Reply

