On being 22

Yesterday I turned 22, and it was one of the nicest birthdays I’ve ever had. I had just arrived back in Cairo the day before, so I got to celebrate my birthday in my favourite city.

It’s very strange being back in Cairo, since I’ve been living in Holland for a year now.  Most of my friends have left Egypt and live elsewhere, so Cairo is full of memories that I can’t recreate anymore.  Yet I still love it and want to come back. I feel like I got very attached to this city and can’t imagine not living here again one day.

I love how friendly people are, how helpful, generous, kind, and funny. I know Egypt has many negatives – many – but still, there’s something about it.

I’ll be here for over a month, and I have a feeling that even then I won’t want to go back to Holland…

11 thoughts on “On being 22

Leave a Reply

