Revolution?


Something is happening in Egypt. For 3 days straight now there have been major demonstrations, the biggest demonstrations in Egypt for decades.  The first day, Jan 25, was intense and the numbers of people that went out onto the street surprised everybody. The next day the police were prepared, and there was more suppression and violence. Tear gas, rubber bullets, real bullets, and water were all used in attempts to disperse crowds. Demonstrations were made illegal and more than 800 people have been arrested.

Yesterday in Suez, a city near Cairo, 15,000 people gathered. The police could not handle the situation and were evacuated. There are rumours that the army was called in and there were hints of there being a massacre there soon. The army is on high alert and the stock markets in Cairo and Alexandria are crashing. There are reports that the president’s family has fled to London.

Is this it? Will Egyptians manage to bring down the dictatorship? Or will this fizzle out or be brutally repressed? Will America step in and save its ally?

I’m in a state of exhilaration and anxiety. What’s going to happen?? It’s so hard to predict. And I’m trying so hard not to be too hopeful.

God bless all the protesters.

20 thoughts on “Revolution?

  1. Lets see what happens after Friday prayer..If only Allah takes Mubareks life..then this would mean the end..if he stays he will not give up, he has the army behind him. Without him with his ugly son in power it would be easier for the egyptians to remove him.
    Today big demonstrations in Sanaa too. If one more dictator falls then the end for the arab US supported leaderships will be soon.

  2. I hope this is the Egyptian people’s time, and I hope they stick to it and get what they want. I also pray loudly that they do not find themselves being killed by the army. I hope the world hears them! My thoughts have been with them since day one and I have been keeping up with it on Al Jazeera and the BBC newschannel and Public Broadcasting.

    Will America step in? No, certainly it will not. But it will stand in support. This is the Egyptian people’s time to shine, and it is their self-determination that has made this so. It is Egypt’s revolution. And I hope they get it.

  3. umm… America has been stepping in for the past thirty years or so, bribing Mubarak to stay away from Israel, and subdue the Muslim brotherhood and dismantle anyone who threatens his power. I believe the CIA has every reason to worry about Egypt, and will certainly be looking out for its other biggest ally in the region, Israel, both of which have been receiving billions of dollars in aid every year to keep the “peace” between the two alive.

    If the Egyptian people succeed, this could mean big time trouble for Israel and US interests in the region. They may have not been stepping in militarily or physically, but they have been mingling in their affairs for quite some time now.

    I pray for the people of Tunisia and Egypt. I hope that their efforts will not be in vein! Viva la revolucion!

      • I guess that depends how we look at it. All the US govt. cares about is making sure their interests are secured in the region, and if that means bending Mubarak to make some type of ‘compromise’ between the people and the regime, they will push for that too. That would be the ideal situation for the US, I think.

        But I hope the Egyptian people don’t settle for such a lame ‘compromise’ – I hope and pray they take Mubarak out, period!

        • I hope the U.S. doesn’t get involved at all! God dammit when are we gonna let people use their own self-determination?! I’m remaining the optimist, for the sake of Egypt and all the hard work they are doing for their cause.

        • “I guess that depends how we look at it…”

          When there is resentment or hatred in the heart, there is really only ONE way we would look at it. There is ALWAYS that tendency to look at it in the negative way, whether or not we are brave enough to admit it.

          If the US is gonna get involved at all, no matter what it does will not be good enough for some of us. For our minds are programmed in such a way that we are absolutely convinced that the US ALWAYS acts for its own gains—that the US government cares ONLY about making sure that its interests are secured, whatever they are, and not about helping others.

          That’s why I’m inclined to agree with unsettledsoul; I hope the US doesn’t get involved at all. Sometimes, it is better to watch from afar, even if many lives will be lost.

                • Cornelius, I always start out optimistic, but many times I am let down. I think you should definitely read up on the situation. I like to say I start with all the hopes in the world, because I think everyone deserves to be thought of in the best ways. But when reality hits, it hits, and then we have to think realistically.

                  The U.S. is very involved, and it is unfortunate.

            • nida,

              You are not getting my point! Let me put it bluntly. You have a negative view of the US no matter it does—whether it gets involved or not. There is nothing the US can do to satisfy you, my friend. Because in your heart and mind, the US is ALWAYS up to no good. That’s my point.

              I did not say that the US won’t get involved. I had hoped that it won’t. Read my earlier comment again, and see if you can understand better the second time round.

              • As a realist, with regards to foreign policy issues, I see any nation, whether they be the US or who ever, do what ever is necessary to secure their own national interests in the foreign policy arena. This post was about Egypt and from my many years of study, I could make a fairly educated guess as to what was going to happen, and whether or not the US would get involved and try to cut some kind of a deal with Mubarak. And as it were, I made a pretty good guess.

                I am a US citizen, and have lived here for a good chunk of my life, and therefore see no problem in critiquing my own government’s foreign policy aspirations when I believe they are unjust.

                Don’t make this issue into something it isn’t. Fact of the matter is, the US as a global empire, albeit a dwindling one, is the greatest tyrant in global politics, and does support and aid many dictatorships who do their bidding in various parts of the world.

                I am simply facing the facts, and the fact is that the US did get involved and is precisely trying to do what I mentioned above.

                I am sorry if that doesn’t seem all rosy to you, but that is the reality of American foreign policy. You are welcome to study the history books for yourself, and make your own conclusions.

                Regards,

  4. “Hossam el-Hamalawy:

    Mubarak is the second largest recipient of US foreign aid aside from Israel. He’s known to be America’s thug in the region; one of the tools of American foreign policy and implementing its agenda of security for Israel and the smooth flow of oil while keeping Palestinians in line. So it’s no secret that this dictatorship has enjoyed the backing of US administrations since day one, even during Bush’s phony pro-democracy rhetoric. So one should not be surprised by Clinton’s ludicrous statements that were more or less defending the Mubarak regime, since one of the pillars of US foreign policy was to keep regimes stable at expense of freedom and civil liberties.

    We don’t expect anything from Obama, whom we regard as a great hypocrite. But we hope and expect the American people – trade unions, professors’ associations, student unions, activist groups, to come out in support of us. What we want for the US government is to completely get out of the picture. We don’t want any sort of backing; just cut aid to Mubarak immediately and withdraw backing from him, withdraw from all Middle Eastern bases, and stop supporting the state of Israel.

    Ultimately, Mubarak will do whatever he has to do to protect himself. He will suddenly adopt the most anti-US rhetoric if he thought that would help him save his skin. At the end of the day he’s committed to his own interests, and if he thinks the US won’t support him, he’ll turn somewhere else. The reality is that any really clean government that comes to power in the region will come into open conflict with the US because it will call for radical redistribution of wealth and ending support for Israel or other dictatorships. So we don’t expect any help from America, just to leave us alone.”

  5. Now, let me be clear from the view in America. Obama made a public statement saying he supports the Egyptian people and their protests, to standing ovation from everyone in congress, and in front of the entire nation on live t.v. I hope everyone’s eyes are open for I know mine are. There should be no U.S. backed support for Mubarak whatsoever in this situation. And so we shall see.

    • I think there is just too much at stake for the US. They will try to cut some kind of a deal. I am all for the people, but realistically speaking, even Obama cannot let this one slide, regardless what he said. Politicians say things all the time, and do something else completely. It’s part of the game.

      I hope I am wrong. I wish Egypt the best! Did you hear Yemen is on the ball too?

  6. Hi! I’m doing a project about beautification and I’m now trying to find different religious persons’ views on cosmetic surgery, so I’d like to ask you what your personal view on it is? By cosmetic surgery I mean a surgery which a person undergoes simply to beautify his-/herself, for instance breast augmentation or rhinoplasty. Would you say it is haraam? Or is it more acceptable if the person is suffering psysichally from his/her appearance? What are the religious sources that give us a hint of it being acceptable or not acceptable.
    I hope you have the possibility to write me a reply, I would be truly grateful since I haven’t managed getting a liberal muslim’s opinion (yet).
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

