Where is God?

So the reason I haven’t been posting on this blog as much is because I’ve been going through a phase of re-thinking a lot of religious ideas and my relationship with God in general.

Since it’s a very personal experience I don’t know if I feel comfortable putting up on this blog. What I will say is that yesterday I found a quote that explains exactly how I feel right now:

“I tried to find Him on the Christian cross, but He was not there; I went to the Temple of the Hindus and to the old pagoda, but I could not find a trace of Him anywhere. I searched the mountains and the valleys but neither in the heights nor in the depths was I able to find Him. I went to the Kaaba in Mecca, but He was not there either. I questioned the scholars and philosophers, but He was beyond their understanding. I then looked into my heart and it was there where He dwelled that I saw him; He was nowhere else to be found.”

Jalaluddin Rumi

4 thoughts on “Where is God?

  1. That is a lovely quote!

    It made me smile though because one of the things we – in Baptist churches down South – grew up saying was “pray and ask Jesus to come into your heart.” So when I look into my heart I do see God. It’s just I also have this nature that rebels against always living that way, unfortunately!

    But, yes, enough with the philosophers and scholars and trying to appeal to logic as if God is able to be fully understood by our brains and passed down to us in lists of what He is or is not. I tend to see God more in the awesomeness of nature than in any building or holy place or book.

  2. I love that quote, but whenever I try to find it, it mysteriously disappears. Glad to see you could put it to use. 😛
    And yeah, you’re not alone; I’m extremely confused right now as well.

Leave a Reply

