All in one moment, I pierced through to the presence of God, and lo and behold, I was no longer as I had been until then, for God put His power in the place of m powerlessness, His strength in the place of my weakness, His wealth in the place of my poverty, His knowledge in the place of my ignorance, His glory in the place of my loneliness.

He covered my quality with His in such a way that I was He and no longer myself. In the words of of the Prophet: “My servant never ceases to come closer to me through voluntary devotions until I love him; and as soon as I love him, I am He.”

Amongst other things that were given to me, my knowledge deepened so greatly that if a thousand times a thousand questions were put to me, I would know how to answer them rightly, for I have become like a candle giving out a light that would not diminish if all existing candles were to be lighted from it.

– al Darqawi
Letters of a Sufi Master

Leave a Reply

